Two Degrees Food Giveaway

TwoDegreesFood has a mission to feed 200 million hungry children – one child at a time. For every bar you buy, they give a nutrition pack to a hungry child.

Nutrition packs are revolutionary treatments for severe and chronic malnutrition. Known as Ready-to-Use Food (RUF), these nutrition packs have been endorsed by the World Health Organization and treat chronic and severely malnourished children with up to 95% success rates. As convenient packs that do not require water or refrigeration, they have shifted the treatment of hungry children from doctors in hospitals to a community-based model focused on mothers in homes. But despite their success, these nutrition packs reach just 3% of the children who need them.

The development of nutrition packs has revolutionized the treatment of malnutrition. As highly fortified, nutrient dense pastes made from grains, nuts, seeds, milk powder, sugar, oil, vitamins, and minerals, these nutrition packs are ready to eat straight from the package. They are precooked, portable, and do not require water for preparation or refrigeration for preservation. Their convenience and efficacy has shifted the treatment of childhood hunger from doctors in hospitals to mothers in homes. Community-based interventions – known as Community-Based Therapeutic Care (CTC) or Community-Based Management of Acute Malnutrition (CMAM) – were developed by our partner Dr. Steve Collins, Chairman of Valid Nutrition and Valid International, and have become the standard of care endorsed by the World Health Organization.

I really respect what they do. YOU can help by purchasing their bars!!!

There are three flavors:

They sustainably source their ingredients from small, local farms whenever possible. For example “Our chocolate comes from a fourth generation family-owned business in New York. Our prunes are grown in a small farm in Oregon that started as a family garden. Our peanut butter comes from a family-owned business in Eugene, Oregon, that started in the family‚Äôs garage. Our quinoa is Fair Trade Certified from Bolivia and Peru.”

I wasn’t too keen on brown rice syrup being the first on the ingredient list. However, because of their mission to support the hungry children, these bars tasted more delicious than ever. I felt good inside and out enjoying the bars.

I also liked the combination of different textures and flavors. The cherry almond one was my favorite. While the cherry gave a nice tart and chewy texture, the quinoa and roasted nuts/seeds gave nice crunch. The puffed rice was a nice addition as well! There are also CHIA SEEDS, which I’ve been obsessed with lately. The bars also include prune puree to make everything stay together. Btw, prune is good to get things flowing smoothly in your intestine. haha, is that too much info? :D

You can support their movement by purchasing their bars =]

Giveaway:

1. What are some ways you help or give back to the community?

2. Link back to this post.

3. Twit about the giveaway.

4. Add me to your blogroll~

This giveaway ends on June 5th, 2011.

21 responses to “Two Degrees Food Giveaway

  1. I recycle, as well as donate clothes and toys to shelters.

  2. kelsey

    recycling, donation, volunteering!

  3. I’m starting to do volunteer reading to the kids at my local library. And I’m about to start doing some of that, or just helping, in the classroom of the primary school I used to attend!

  4. kelsey

    google reader!!!!

  5. Megan

    I always recycle, and volunteer at a hospital

  6. Linda

    Recycling of everything I can and donation of clothing etc. I also try to conserve energy by drying clothing either outside on the line in good weather or inside on a clothing rack in the winter.

  7. rachel

    i volunteer at shelters several times a month

  8. PurpleLarkspur

    I do beach clean ups every couple of months. I also bring food to a shelter on a regular basis.

  9. moonsword

    We participate in the city’s Empty Bowls events for hunger relief. Thanks!

  10. czechvegan

    You are on my blogroll!

  11. czechvegan

    I volunteer in a hospital and work as a psychologist, so I help a lot, I hope :)

  12. Ashley

    recycling and donation are the biggest ways, though I’d love do to more. :)

  13. Lori

    I recycle, donate clothes and toys and volunteer.

  14. VanessaG

    To give back I try to help those in need. I love to help!! I am a first grade teacher and so I love to help, serve, and teach. I try to teach my students how bleseed we are and that it is better to give than recieve. We do lots of service projects throughout the yr. Examples are collecting items for Ronald McDonald House wish list, collecting tabs, donating canned food and coats/toys for families in need. We also recycle paper and compost at school. I’d love to help a company that gives to others!!:)

  15. Meagan

    I volunteer at a retirement home, which is tons of fun!

  16. Meagan

    Tweeted @vivalameaganx3

  17. christina

    i volunteer at local elementary school =]

  18. I am apart of an organization that tutors inner city kids, paint murals on the sides of old buildings, and helps plant gardens to feed the families of Detroit

  19. I plan on spending my whole summer volunteering!! I can;t wait!! these bars look great!!

  20. I was extremely pleased to find this website.
    I need to to thank you for your time for this particularly
    wonderful read!! I definitely savored every part of it and I have you
    book marked to check out new information
    on your blog.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


Supporter

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 100 other followers

